almond croissantI’d like to discuss my experiences with almond croissants.  I realized there’s no acceptable forum for me to do this in.  That’s when I knew it was time to create another blog.

The rules for the blog are this.  The title should contain location and dates, then the content should be about experiences but the experiences should minimize opinion and personal history.  That’s it!  I’m sure I’ll make up more pointless rules as we go along, before the blog ebbs out.

At home, before I went on my diet, I became very fond of almond croissants from the Amish market, a nearby gourmet supermarket.  Despite the fact that it’s overpriced and caters to overpaid people, I’ve developed a fondness for the Amish Market, probably based on the fact that it’s geographically close to me.  It’s orange and brown and the cashier women are largely Eastern European.  They play old forties swingish music on their speakers.  Anyway, the pastries are a dollar a piece in the afternoon.  This reduction helped fuel my appetite for almond croissants.  Naturally when I came to Paris, my attention as soon as I stepped into the boulangeries would zero in on the almond croissants.

The Amish Market almond croissants are folded over pieces of bread with almonds sprinkled on top and sugary insides.  They look like chocolate croissants, but not really like the crescent shaped normal croissants, except for the same texture and coloring.  In the boulangerie Maya L frequents, the almond croissants are more of the crescent shape with chocolate shavings and almonds on the outside and inside a sugary/almondy paste with alcoholic undertones.  They feel alive, like fish.

When I eat an almond croissant here, I almost feel like I’m being nourished.  Another notable almond croissant I had was near Bois de Vincennes.  This one had hardened edges that tasted just like a homemade cookie.  That one was great.  I even managed to have two bites before the bike ride, allowing me to have a lot left when we sat down in a field.

The other thing I noticed about almond croissants is that I’m usually full when I’m done and I don’t wish there were more or that I had eaten more slowly.

I had a croissant from the boulangerie up the hill yesterday. This boulangeries puts on some airs.  It’s very clean and large and appropriate parts are reflecting/shining.  I ordered a croissant, a baguette and an almond croissant.  Exactly what was needed. The dough in the almond croissant was so raw and springy, it was like slippery naked flesh.  I’m sure if I had vampiric leanings, I would like these croissants the best.  Actually I did like them the best, just like I like raw meat with blood trickling out.  But I’m not a vampire–I like garlic and age.

This morning I went out to a new boulangerie.  Actually I went up the hill, but that one was closed.  I brought two macarons*, a baguettte, a croissant, and an almond croissant.  The almond croissant was good, no alochol, acceptable, but without that special nude quality.

*Maya and I have learned a lot about macaroons, macarons, marrons, chestnuts and maple trees in the last few days.

