So across from the block with the bodega on 10th where I got pop chips is this block full of playgrounds and fields.  I think it’s 28th btwn 10th and 9th, possibly 29.  The south side of the street, near the playgrounds is a rat haven.  I sometimes like to walk on that side of the street because

1)  There are interesting people to look at in the playgrounds and

2)  The guy who runs the food stand on the other side of the street sometimes tries to talk to me.

However every once in awhile, even when there’s still light out, I’ll see a rat scurrying along the sidewalk DESPITE THERE BEING NO GARBAGE BINS.  I don’t get it.  I don’t understand why the rats like this block so much but it is freaky.

I have been fortunate enough not to have many rat encounters.  My friend used to live in a basement apartment with the garbage outside and sometimes there would be rats there.  Another friend had rats come into his apartment.  And then this weekend at a party I heard about yet another person who had a rat rustling around his apartment at night.  I wouldn’t be able to come back to my place if I knew a rat would possibly be invading.

They are scary beasts and unlike roaches, I do not feel I could defeat one.rats1-9807

