Pumpkins are a big part of Halloween. When you live in a house, it’s just really normal to buy a pumpkin and put it outside on your stoop or in your window. Carved or uncarved. But when you’re living in a city it because much more of a haste to buy one, transport it to your place, get it up the stairs, carve it . . . Plus you’re limited in your options of where to put it. You can leave it in the window, but if you’re not facing a street, what’s the point? You could put it out on your balcony or fire escape, but you run into the same problem…I think that people should be able to put them up on the roof. It would look great and everyone would be able to see the pumpkins from the street. It’s probably some kind of fire hazard or something, though.

my first parisian pumpkin

my first parisian pumpkin

 

I went to a ex-pat pumpkin carving event on Friday. We carved a pumpking and entered it in the contest (not winning by a long shot), but I was so inspired that I bought one of the pumpkins there and carved it before leaving, just so I could have one to take home with me. I put it on my balcony. Sadly, me and the cat are the only ones that can see it.

