Maya R. and JYC have been encouraging me to read Eckhart Tolle. I really wasn’t into him at first, but I feel like he is growing on me.

Being in a city makes it hard to think sometimes. But a lot of the time, it makes it hard for you NOT to think. You’re in the past or in the future…thinking about how you really should have done this or that, or how you’re really going to be late for work or practice or the doctor. The only time I feel like I’m in the NOW is when I’m complaining about something, which is not really productive in terms of appreciating things and accepting things as they are.

Anyway, I joined a group called Eckhart Tolle Paris.I was expecting an actual meeting this first time, but it was just meet-up for planning. I was disappointed because the next few Sundays I’m out of town and will have to miss the first few real sessions. Hopefully there will be another one before I go to NYC for Christmas!

In the future the group is going to listen and meditate and have light discussions about his ideas. Hopefully this will help me to listen to him more regularly, or at least during the meetings. It will definitely help me contemplate more, since we get a text a day by email. For me, even just 3 minutes of considering these thoughts is better than nothing. And I find myself saying things I didn’t before. Like, “Today, maybe I can ride the train without listening to my music. I can just zone out and not think. Maybe it will do me some good.” New thoughts like these might be a good thing, especially with all the noise and distraction of the city. It would be nice to get out into the country, but no music on the train is going to have to suffice for now.

